Calne Without Parish Council

To Councillors ,Rees, Robbins, Barnes, Campbell Rogers, Crane, Deedigan, Fossa, Hislop, Kronig, MacInnes, Price, Songhurst and Todd

You are hereby summoned to attend an Extraordinary meeting of Calne Without Parish Council, at Lansdown Hall, Petty Lane, Derry Hill on Wednesday 13th April 2022 at 7.30pm

Iom Reus

Ioan Rees Chairman of the Council 4th April 2022

Public Meeting

1. Chairmans Opening Address

2. Public Participation

Opportunity for members of the public to address the Committee relating to the Draft Recommendations in the Community Governance review 2022 to redraw the boundaries of Calne Without Parish Council to create a 'Derry Hill and Studley Parish Council'

Extraordinary Meeting Agenda

1 Apologies

To receive apologies.

2 Public participation/ Correspondence

2.1 Public participation

Opportunity for members of the public to address the Committee.

2.2 Correspondence

For the Clerk to report any correspondence not circulated.

3 Declarations of Interest

Declarations from Councillors of any disclosable pecuniary interest (Standing Orders 13b) or other interest (Standing Orders 13c) in respect of matters being considered by the Council.

4 Community Governance Review 2022

To consider the Community Governance Review <u>draft recommendations</u> in turn and decide the councils response.

Recommendation that the Parish Council consider and discuss draft recommendations 2-7 and decide the official response to be provided to Wiltshire Council.

Summary of Recommendations

Recommendation 2

2.1 That the area marked as A be transferred from Calne Without to Calne Town as part of the Calne South Town Ward. Calne South Ward to continue to have four councillors.

2.2 That the areas marked as B and C be transferred from Calne Without to Calne Town as part of the Calne Central Town Ward. Calne Central Ward to continue to have five councillors.

2.3 To request that the LGBCE amend the Calne Central and Calne Rural Electoral Divisions to be coterminous with the proposed revised parish boundaries of Calne Town and Calne Without.

Reasons: Paragraphs 54, 73, 80, 84, 85 and 170 of the Guidance on Community Governance Reviews

Recommendation 3

3.1 That the area marked as D1 and D2 be transferred from Calne Without and Calne Town respectively to Bremhill as part of the Bremhill Ward of Bremhill Parish Council. Bremhill Ward to continue to have five councillors.

3.2 That the area marked as E be transferred from Langley Burrell Without to Bremhill as part of the East Tytherton Ward of Bremhill Parish Council. East Tytherton Ward to continue to have three councillors.

3.3 That the area marked as F be transferred from Christian Malford to Bremhill as part of the Foxham Ward of Bremhill Parish Council. Foxham Ward to continue to have three councillors.

3.4 That the area marked as G be transferred from Bremhill to Langley Burrell Without. Langley Burrell Without to continue to have five councillors.

3.5 To request that the LGBCE amend the Kington, Calne North and Calne Rural Electoral Divisions to be coterminous with the proposed revised parish boundaries of Calne Without, Christian Malford, Bremhill, Langley Burrell Without and Calne Town.

Reasons: Paragraphs 73, 74, 84 and 85 of the Guidance on Community Governance Reviews

Recommendation 4

4.1 That the area marked as H1 be transferred from Cherhill to Compton Bassett.

4.2 That the area marked as H2 be transferred from Calne Without to Compton Bassett. Community Governance Review 2019/20 Draft Recommendations

4.3 That the area marked as I be transferred from Calne Without to Hilmarton.

4.4 That Compton Bassett continue to have seven councillors.

4.5 That Hilmarton continue to have eleven councillors.

Reasons: Paragraphs 73, 74, 83, 84 and 85 of the Guidance on Community Governance Reviews

Recommendation 5

5.1 That the area marked as J be transferred from Calne Without to Cherhill.

5.2 That the area marked as J be named Lower Compton and Calstone Wellington

Ward, and to contain four councillors.

5.3 That Cherhill Parish Council comprise three wards (Cherhill, Yatesbury, Lower Compton and Calstone Wellington), and a total of Eleven councillors. Cherhill Ward would continue to contain five councillors. Yatesbury would continue to contain two councillors. Reasons: Paragraphs 73, 74, 80, 84 and 85 of the Guidance on Community Governance Reviews

Recommendation 6

6.1 That the area marked as K be transferred from Calne Without to Heddington as a new 'Heddington Without' Ward of Heddington Parish Council. The ward to have two parish councillors.

6.2 The remaining part of the parish would be called 'Heddington Ward', with seven parish councillors. That the parish of Heddington therefore be increased to a total of nine councillors.

Reasons: Paragraphs 73, 74, 80, 83, 84 and 85 of the Guidance on Community Governance Reviews

Recommendation 7

7.1 That subject to Recommendations 2-6, that the area shown in the map below, being the remaining part of Calne Without parish, be renamed from Calne Without to Derry Hill and Studley.

7.2 That the area marked as L be transferred from the parish of Bromham to the renamed parish of Derry Hill and Studley.

7.3 That the renamed parish of Derry Hill and Studley be unwarded with nine councillors.7.4 To request that the LGBCE amend the Calne South and Calne Rural Divisions to be coterminous with the proposed revised boundaries of the renamed parish of Derry Hill and Studley.

Reasons: Paragraphs 54, 58, 59, 63, 73, 74, 80, 83, 84, 85 and 170 of the Guidance on Community Governance Reviews